SMart Award

Contribution to the Arts Recognition Program

2017 Award Reception

2017 Recipients will receive their awards at a reception held at 6:30pm on October 5, at Centro Cultural Hispano de San Marcos. Open to public. Refreshments will be served. 

SMart awards are presented to individuals in our community who have made significant contributions to the creation, support, or advocacy of all art forms in San Marcos.

SMart Award Recipients:


Terri Hendrix - Smart Award Individual

Lee ColeĆ© - Smart Award Individual

Christopher Hansen - Smart Award Individual

Jordan Buckley/San Marcos Cinema Club  - Spark Award

Rice Harrington - Posthumous Award


Scott Wade - SMart Award Individual

Art Squared - SMart Award Organization

Billy Ray and Beverly Mangham, Eye of the Dog Art Center - SMart Award Advocate

Mario Garza and the Indigenous Cultures Institute - Diversity Award

John Hood - Posthumous Award

Daniel Hannon - John Hood

Jody Cross - Spark Award   


Ron and Marie Jaeger

Deanna Badgett

Billi London-Gray

Kent Finley

Kyle Mylius

Jerry Touchstone Kimmel


Ophelia Vasquez-Philo and El Centro Cultural Hispano de San Marcos

Linda Kelsey-Jones

Arlis Hiebert

The purpose of the San Marcos Art (SMArt) Award program is to encourage and recognize outstanding support and enhancement of the arts and cultural life of San Marcos. To recognize the important contributions of artists and arts organizations to the quality of life and economic vitality of the community. To encourage volunteerism and business participation with local arts organizations.