Structural Control Inspection Program

City Park Pond

 In order to meet the conditions of the state-issued Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) Permit and Stormwater Management Program (SWMP), the City passed ordinance Section 86.531- Maintenance and repair of structural controls. 

The ordinance requires owners of post construction BMPs, or known in the ordinance as "structural controls," to conduct inspections (at least) once every three years. The inspection report must be prepared by a Texas-licensed engineer. The inspecting engineer must be chosen from a list of engineers that were pre-certified by the City of San Marcos. This list is located at the bottom of this page.

Aside from being an MS4 Permit and SWMP requirement, the program was established to ensure that the structural controls are operating as they were originally designed to. If the controls are in proper working order, they can help reduce the occurrence of flooding and capture pollutants before they enter a waterbody.

Applications can be sent by emailing the Stormwater Management Department at stormwatermgt@sanmarcostx.gov

To view ordinance Section 86.531 which requires inspections of structural controls, please click here.

Pre-Qualified Engineers

Firm Name Contact Name Email Phone
318 Group, LLC James McCann, P.E. jmccann@318group.com 512-788-0909
BGE, Inc. Kenneth Carper, P.E., CFM, ENV-SP kcarper@bgeinc.com   210-581-3614 or 919-830-4366
Consort, Inc.  Tom Burson, P.E. tburson@consortinc.com 512-469-0500
Cuatro Consultants, LTD Hugo Elizondo, Jr., P.E. hugo@cuatroconsultants.com 512-565-9040
Doucet & Associates, Inc. Tom Hegemier, PE,D.WRE, CFM thegemier@doucetengineers.com 512-583-2635
Eckerman Engineering, Inc Marshal Brewer P.E. marshal@eckermannengineering.com 512-556-8160
Elizabeth Arceneaux, P.E. Elizabeth Arceneaux, P.E., CISEC, CPESC elizabeth.arceneaux@austin.rr.com 512-644-1927
Freese and Nichols, Inc. Will Huff, P.E., CFM Will.Huff@freese.com 512-617-3195
Freese and Nichols, Inc. Kimberly K. Patak, P.E. kkp@freese.com 512-617-3138
Freese and Nichols, Inc. Jerome W. Scanlon, III, P.E., CFM, ENV-SP jws@freese.com 512-617-3115
Geosyntec Consultants Brandon Klenzendorf, Ph.D., P.E., CPESC BKlenzendorf@Geosyntec.com 512-451-4003
Huffman Hydrocarbon Engineering, LLC Bart A. Huffman, P.E. barthuffman@satx.rr.com 210-523-1085
Seagull PME Gian Villarreal, P.E., CPSWQ, CFM gvillarreal@seagullpme.com 210-446-6865
JD Engineering John Dipollino, P.E. jdtxpe@gmail.com 512-618-3223
Utility Engineering Group, PLLC Garry Montgomery, P.E., CFM, SIT garrym@uegpros.com 830-798-3952
Vigil and Associates Hermann Vigil, P.E. hermann@vigilandassoc.com 512-326-2667 or 512-431-3525