Zoning for Character Workshop - August 2015

About the Zoning for Character Workshop

The City of San Marcos has been working with residents, a nine member citizen committee, and a team of consultants since last year to update the City's Land Development Code.

During the Zoning for Character workshop, property owners and residents began exploring the regulatory framework proposed for the 6 Vision San Marcos Intensity Zones established in the recently adopted Comprehensive Plan.
Zoning for Character Workshop Logo

6 Intensity Zones

  • East Village
  • Medical District
  • Midtown
  • South End
  • Star Park
  • Triangle
Vision San Marcos Intensity Zones Map

Regulating Plans

Regulating Plans establish the development standards in both words and diagrams for a specific geographical location. Regulating Plans contribute to creating a more predictable built environment based on community desires. The Intensity Zones established during the Comprehensive Plan are intended to accommodate the City's growing population in well-planned areas where people can meet their daily needs within a short walk, bike, transit trip, or drive.